European Union citizens

Member States of the European Union

BulgariaHungaryRepublic of Ireland*
Czech RepublicLatviaSlovakia
FranceThe NetherlandsUnited Kingdom

*Citizens of the UK, the Republic of Ireland, Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in respect of all elections in the UK.

Cyprus, Malta and the Republic of Ireland

Citizens of the Republic of Ireland and Commonwealth citizens, including those from Malta and Cyprus, have the same voting rights as British citizens.  Membership of the EU has no effect on the electoral registration status of these citizens and they are able to register to vote in respect of all UK elections, assuming all of the other relevant registration criteria are met.

For registration purposes, the whole of Cyprus is considered to be a Commonwealth country and the Electoral Registration Officer is not concerned with the political situation regarding the division of the island.  Provided that the person has a passport from either the Republic of Cyprus or the Republic of Northern Cyprus, they are entitled to be included in the register of electors as Commonwealth citizens.  Anyone claiming to be from Cyprus but with a Turkish passport, however, is not entitled to register.


Essential Link

If you spot anything wrong, or outdated with this page. Please let us know by clicking on the button below.
Please note this is only to report webpage issues or broken links, please report any other issues using the correct form.
Report an issue with this page

Please help us improve our website by giving us feedback you'd like to on this page. If you'd like to remain anonymous you can omit your name and email. Thanks, Tendring District Council.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. View our privacy policy for more information.