European Union citizens

Member States of the European Union

BulgariaHungaryRepublic of Ireland*
Czech RepublicLatviaSlovakia
FranceThe NetherlandsUnited Kingdom

*Citizens of the UK, the Republic of Ireland, Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in respect of all elections in the UK.

Cyprus, Malta and the Republic of Ireland

Citizens of the Republic of Ireland and Commonwealth citizens, including those from Malta and Cyprus, have the same voting rights as British citizens.  Membership of the EU has no effect on the electoral registration status of these citizens and they are able to register to vote in respect of all UK elections, assuming all of the other relevant registration criteria are met.

For registration purposes, the whole of Cyprus is considered to be a Commonwealth country and the Electoral Registration Officer is not concerned with the political situation regarding the division of the island.  Provided that the person has a passport from either the Republic of Cyprus or the Republic of Northern Cyprus, they are entitled to be included in the register of electors as Commonwealth citizens.  Anyone claiming to be from Cyprus but with a Turkish passport, however, is not entitled to register.

Last updated on: 19/07/2022 - 13:24