List of Commonwealth Countries


Antigua and BarbudaKenyaSamoa
The BahamasLesothoSierra Leone
BarbadosMalaysiaSolomon Islands
BelizeMaldivesSouth Africa
BotswanaMalta*Sri Lanka
Brunei DarussalamMauritiusSwaziland
CanadaNamibiaTrinidad and Tobago
DominicaNew ZealandUganda
Fiji IslandsNigeriaUnited Kingdom
GhanaPakistanUnited Republic of Tanzania
GrenadaPapua New GuineaVanuatu
IndiaSt Kitts and NevisZimbabwe
JamaicaSt Lucia 
 St Vincent and the Grenadines

*Although also EU member states, citizens of Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in respect of all elections held in the UK.

British Oversees Territories


BermudaPitcairn Island
British Antarctic TerritorySt Helena
British Indian Ocean Territory

St Helena dependencies

British Virgin Islands(Ascension Island and Tristan da Cunha)
Cayman IslandsSouth Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
Falkland IslandsSovereign base areas on Cyprus
GibraltarTurks and Caicos Islands

British Nationals (Overseas) citizens, British Overseas citizens and British Dependent Territories citizens are all Commonwealth citizens and are entitled to register as electors in respect of all elections, provided that they also fulfil the age and residence requirements for such registration and are not subject to any other legal incapacity. Such citizens are not, however, eligible to register as overseas electors.

British Crown Dependencies

The British Crown Dependencies consist of the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands including Jersey, Guernsey, Sark, Alderney, Herm and the other inhabited Channel Islands.

Citizens of the British Crown Dependencies are considered to be Commonwealth citizens for the purposes of the electoral registration but they may only register to vote in UK elections when they are resident in the UK. As with citizens of British Overseas Territories, citizens of British Crown Dependencies are not entitled to register as overseas electors.

Hong Kong

Following its transfer to Chinese sovereignty on 1 July 1997, Hong Kong was deleted from the list of British Overseas Territories. As a result, former residents of Hong Kong are not qualifying Commonwealth citizens by virtue of their residency in Hong Kong as Hong Kong Chinese is no longer a nationality.

Any previous resident of Hong Kong who holds a British Dependent Territories, British Nationals (Overseas) or British Overseas passport meets the nationality criteria for all elections in the UK.

Any previous resident of Hong Kong who only has a Chinese Special Administrative Region passport is Chinese and may not register.

Last updated on: 04/02/2015 - 12:51